Posted by: New in Every Way | May 9, 2012

A Personal Trainer

After Zumba class this morning, I overheard a conversation. One of the members of our class told our teacher she was interested in signing up with her as a personal trainer. However, she wasn’t sure she was fit enough to get started. Our teacher said if she was not mentally ready to begin she should wait, but as for physical fitness—that was not a problem. Personal trainers start their clients out from where they are.

Sweet! Couldn’t we all use a personal trainer in . . . any number of areas of our lives?

Maybe we have one. Remember the picture of Jesus in Revelation 3:20 (see Monday’s post, “Surprise Ending”)? He was eager to renew a personal relationship with his wandering “followers.”

In Matthew 11:28-30, Jesus extends a similar invitation to fellowship with him. This time, though, he promises that hanging out with him is like having a personal life coach. Here’s my favorite version (The Message Bible) of this passage:

“Are you tired? [Jesus speaking] Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”

 

Make It Personal 

  • Could you use some help with life? Re-read Jesus’ words above. Do you hear the willingness in his voice to be your personal trainer?
  • Have you tried church, bible reading, and praying but don’t seem to have much life or faith? Open your heart wider to Jesus himself. He said, “I am the way, the truth, and the life” (John 14:6). Not “I will lead you to the life” but “I am the life.”
Leave a Reply

Categories

