Posted by: New in Every Way | May 11, 2012

Magic Washcloths

Do you know what I mean by a magic washcloth? A compressed chunk of fabric you dunk into water so it will swell to become a washcloth?

That’s what I thought of several days ago when I read this statement of King David’s:

You have also given me the shield of Your salvation;
Your right hand has held me up,
Your gentleness has made me great (Psalm 18:35 NKJV).

My paraphrase of the last line: “Your kindness has caused me to expand into a glad and confident person.” 

On Monday, we saw how encouragingly Jesus reacts when we mess up. On Wednesday, we saw him offering to be our personal mentor. Today, David’s remark above shows God’s gracious, personal attention does something to us on the inside.

It sets us free from our weaknesses. It causes us to soar like an eagle. Here’s how Darlene Zschech sings it in “The Power of Your Love.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

