Posted by: New in Every Way | May 18, 2012

Replaced with a Song

Would you agree the worst part of being in a pit is what it does to your spirit and emotions? A few years ago I saw a classic example of that–with an unforgettable conclusion.

I was visiting friends whose daughter was home for the summer. Traumatic events in her life had taken their toll. It was impossible to predict what topics of conversation would trigger emotional responses from her.

A few months later, in a phone conversation with her mother, I heard this story:

Before the young lady returned to school, her mother asked her to give them a bible verse they could use when they prayed for her. She gave them a verse about being restored to gladness. After her parents had used the words of this scripture for a couple months in their daily prayer for her, her mother asked her how she was doing.

“Oh, you don’t have to pray that for me anymore. I’m fine.”

I saw her during her Christmas break. When I commented on how radiant she looked, she said, “Oh, yes! God has been so good to me.”

Which bible verse did her parents pray over her? I really don’t know, but I suspect it was part of the passage below. It sounds exactly like what happened to her.

1 I waited patiently for the Lord;
he turned to me and heard my cry.
2 He lifted me out of the slimy pit,
out of the mud and mire;
he set my feet on a rock
and gave me a firm place to stand.
3 He put a new song in my mouth,
a hymn of praise to our God.
Many will see and fear the Lord
and put their trust in him
(Psalm 40:1-3).

Making It Personal

  • What do the verses above say about rock-like stability and a song of joy? Are they part of God’s plan for you? Something you can ask for?
  • What would happen if you made the above verses a daily prayer for yourself or someone you love?
  • When people ask you about your new confidence and cheerfulness, you can point them to the kindness and power of God.
Leave a Reply

Categories

