Posted by: New in Every Way | August 8, 2012

Can’t Have One Without the Other

~~  REMOVING ROADBLOCKS TO A HEALTHY SELF, Part 1  ~~

Mark Twain, the famous American humorist, once said, “It ain’t those parts of the Bible that I can’t understand that bother me, it is the parts that I do understand.”

I totally get his point, but I would like to suggest that the most bothersome parts of the Bible are those we think we understand . . . but don’t. Take, for example, this biblical statement:

‘Love your neighbor as yourself’ (Matthew 22:39 NLT). 

Oh, boy! How can I love someone else as much as myself, we think. I mean, I do care about most people, but I care about myself a whole lot more. Isn’t that normal? 

Maybe the problem is not that we love ourselves too much. Maybe we don’t love ourselves enough! People who believe in themselves and feel good about themselves are free to think about something besides themselves.

So, for the next several Wednesdays, let’s talk about loving ourselves—really loving ourselves. Then Jesus’ commandment to love our neighbors . . . won’t seem so hard any more.

Loving others without loving ourselves just doesn’t work. We can’t have one with the other.

 

For no-hassle commenting, enter your name when prompted, but not your email address.

Leave a Reply

Categories

