Posted by: New in Every Way | September 3, 2012

Live Large

∞   BIBLE JOTTINGS  ∞

Do you know you do? Live large, that is. However you interact with life has a ripple effect in the lives of those around you.

That’s what struck me about these verses from 2 Corinthians:

3 All praise to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. God is our merciful Father and the source of all comfort. 4 He comforts us in all our troubles so that we can comfort others. . . . Then you can patiently endure the same things we suffer (2 Corinthians 1:3, 4, 6 NLT).

The Corinthian believers saw that Paul was not devastated by persecution. It gave them the confidence they could hang in there too. Think of it—one person trusted in God during traumatic times . . . and a whole group of people took courage.

One incident is all it takes to impact other people permanently.  One evening after my mother died, my four-year-old mind finally understood she was not coming back—ever. As I wailed, my father held me and cried too. After a long while, he said, “God will make us happy again.” 

God can do that? I thought. It seemed impossible, but Dad said it, so it must be true. . . . Since then trauma has hit me, more than once, but I have never lost hope. I have never had a nervous breakdown. I believe God is good and everything is going to be alright.

Poor attitudes are also passed on to others. A friend told me yesterday about her ex-husband—a man who showed no affection or concern for his family members. Then she told me about his father, who was really callous.

My father purposely passed on to me his confidence in God’s goodness. The father I learned about yesterday just minded his own business. But he passed on his attitudes anyway. I guess that means we will make a mark on the world around us, whether we intend to or not.

How important we are! We are living, not only for ourselves, but for others. Our lives are large. They will live on in our friends and family for generations after we are gone. Makes you want to step up to greater purpose, kindness, and courage, doesn’t it?

 

Making It Personal

  • Cain asked, “Am I my brother’s keeper?” What do you think? Did God put you here to help others? To show others how to live?
  • What good effect have you had on your neighbors, co-workers, and family already? (If you can’t think of anything, ask someone you trust. Ask the Lord to show you.)
  • Which of your attitudes and behavior do you want to improve for ___________’s sake? (Fill in the blank with someone’s name.)

 

For no-hassle commenting, enter your name when prompted, but not your email address.

Leave a Reply

Categories

