Posted by: New in Every Way | September 10, 2012

A Reprimand and a (Virtual) Hug

I would not have wanted to be a member of the church of Laodicea when the Apostle John sent to it this message from Jesus:
I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth. You say, ‘I am rich; I have acquired wealth and do not need a thing.’ But you do not realize that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked. I counsel you to buy from me gold refined in the fire, so you can become rich; and white clothes to wear, so you can cover your shameful nakedness; and salve to put on your eyes, so you can see (Revelation 3:15-18).

How embarrassing! How terrifying! But then I noticed what immediately follows:

Those whom I love I rebuke and discipline. So be earnest, and repent. Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me (Rev. 3:19-20).

At first, I thought Jesus had abruptly switched gears. First, it seems, he was fed up with the Laodiceans. Then, his heart softened a bit. But, no–Jesus states that the whole message was prompted by love.

First, love compelled him to set them free from the deception that was alienating them from him and thus causing them to become increasingly ungodly. Secondly, he quickly assured them that he loved them as much as ever. Then, lest they were still reeling with shame–maybe even ready to run away and quit trying to be a Christian–he stepped close and said, “I’m right here at the door of your heart. Not to chew you out, but to take you back as a beloved follower.”

When I worked in the church nursery, I was given instructions on what to do if a child was hurt. The final instruction was to ask for the parent to come in and hold the child for a bit, to establish the child’s emotions again. This passage shows Jesus’ tender concern that we not become overwhelmed by the revelation of our faults. He gives us a virtual hug, letting us know he is rooting for us all the way as we set out to do better. In the light of such acceptance, support, and affection, who wouldn’t do anything to please him?

Responses

  1. […] Should it? The answer is “No,” if you take Rev. 3:15-20 to heart. That’s the bible passage Monday’s blog was about. In it, Jesus tells the members of the Laodicean church he’s not at all happy about […]

  2. […] Should it? The answer is “No,” if you take Rev. 3:15-20 to heart. That’s the bible passage Monday’s blog was about. In it, Jesus tells the members of the Laodicean church he’s not at all happy about […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

