Posted by: New in Every Way | November 29, 2012

Balconies, Hard Drives, and Help

* *   RaNdoM StuFF   **

I could say I was doing undercover work for the past three-plus weeks and that’s why you haven’t heard from me. But that’s not quite accurate. I was hiding, alright—out on the balcony of my new home in Kentucky. Hiding from the heaps of boxes the movers said were mine. Well . . . hiding out on the balcony happened once. I couldn’t stand the clutter any more.

When the house began to look like home, I drove to the nearest place where I knew there’d be WiFi (my internet was not hooked up yet) to write my next Wednesday blog. . . . Long story, short, my hard drive decided to crash.

. . . In spite of all these crises, I am loving Kentucky! Rolling bluegrass country, criss-crossed by rail fences and dominated by elegant horse barns. Hiking trails along limestone bluffs within minutes from my house. People who say exactly what they think, but have excellent manners (“Yes, ma’am.”). SPENDING TIME WITH MY SON, DAUGHTER-IN-LAW, AND TEENAGE GRANDCHILDREN who live right down the road. . . . Yeah, I’m thankful the Lord brought me here.

And I’m majorly thankful that he (the Lord) so regularly guided me and so amazingly provided all the help I have needed with this move. Just like the Bible says he will do: 

Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
And lean not on your own understanding
 

In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He shall direct your paths (Proverbs 3:4-5 NKJV).

I find, more and more, that these are not just nice-sounding words. They really work. The trick is you have to change the way you think about life in order for them to work.

For example, the part about “lean not on your own understanding” is opposite of everything we are taught growing up. Are we not supposed to be responsible? To use our understanding and skills?

Yes, God gives us wisdom and skill and expects us to use them—but not until he has done his part. It’s like the relationship between two health insurance policies. One is primary and the other secondary. Medical bills are sent to the primary insurance carrier. It determines what it will pay. Then the secondary insurance deals with what’s left (the easy part).

Referring all our everyday situations to the Lord FIRST gives him a chance to

  • get us to the right place at the right time—often in a surprising way.
  • prepare others to respond to us with favor.
  • use the situation to bless others and show them his love. In other words, when God is involved in something, he brings eternal value into it.

Oh . . . so how do you refer things to God? Joyce Meyer helped me greatly by explaining the phrase “In all your ways acknowledge him.” She said it doesn’t take an hour-long prayer meeting to get God’s guidance in a practical situation. You just need to talk to him about it, acknowledge your desire for him to take charge, and step out, trusting that he will inspire your thoughts and actions. And keep your heart open throughout the day for further conversation.

Making It Personal

  • Is God the senior partner in your life today? Or is he someone you consult occasionally?
  • What kind of results do you want today? Human-size results or God-size results?

For no-hassle commenting, enter your name when prompted, but not your email address.

Responses

  1. Hi Celia ,
    Love ready your blogs!
    Really miss you !
    Hope you are settled in your new home.
    Blessing to a wonderful friend

    • Hi Joanne,
      Great to hear from you!
      Yes, pretty well settled and very blessed–but I’ll gladly accept some more.
      It’s tough that you are so far away! Keep up the good writing, and let me know when you publish a new book. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

