Posted by: New in Every Way | April 3, 2013

He Didn’t Let Go

Do you know anyone who no longer believes there is a God because they didn’t receive an answer to a heartfelt prayer? I do. I feel for them. I’ve been confused and hurt myself because I really believed . . . and it didn’t happen. I guess the reason I didn’t stop believing in him was because I did know him personally. I had experienced his presence. I had also received answers to other prayers.

Three boys playing tug-of-warBut I became less confident in praying–for a while. For years, actually. But I have not been satisfied with that. I have seen in the Bible that Jesus loved finding people with outrageous faith. So I have kept the hope alive.

So you can imagine how ENCOURAGING it was to hear my pastor’s remark about Abraham.

First of all, some background: You know, he was 75 years old when he left the old country to travel to the Promised Land. The Lord told him his descendants would inherit the land that is now Israel. Problem was, he had no children. None. His wife was barren, and he was getting up in years.

Abraham is called the father of faith, because he believed God’s “impossible” promises. But his faith was not exactly rock-solid in the beginning. Or middle. He waffled a little on following the Lord’s instructions. And, after waiting 24 years for this son to appear, he asked the Lord, “How can I know this will really happen? Couldn’t my chief servant’s son be my heir?”

At that point, the Lord made a blood covenant with Abraham, showing him how serious his promise was. Abraham was instantly convinced. From then on, he had no problem trusting God completely. . . . His son was born a year later.

This is the remark my pastor made about all this: During those 25 years, Abraham did not let go of his hope in God’s promise. He didn’t say, “I guess I was mistaken.” He didn’t say, “I don’t see this kind of thing happening anywhere. Why did I think it would happen for me?” No, he knew that he had heard from God. It was a precious thing to him, so he kept it alive. That’s why, my pastor continued, his faith was able to grow. To critical mass, if you will. To the point where he could receive God’s amazing promises.

I’m excited about the promises I’m hanging on to. I may not have quite enough faith to receive them yet, but I will. I’m giving my faith a chance to grow.:-)

Therefore do not cast away your confidence, which has great reward. For you have need of endurance, so that after you have done the will of God, you may receive the promise (Hebrews 10:35-36 NKJV).

Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up (Galations 6:9 NIV)

Responses

  1. Very encouraging post! Thanks!

  2. […] Seeds and Mountains, He Didn’t Let Go, and Vending Machine or […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

